[HOW-TO] Add a Zombie Factory in LOTD

Tutorials for the UnrealEd(itor) 2.5, which apply to LOTD, UT2003 and UT2004, and other games based on the same Engine.
Post Reply
User avatar Romania
Dragosvr92
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1128
Joined: 11 Sep 2009, 06:04
Name: Dragoș-Valentin Rădulescu
Location: Romania
Age: 32
Contact:

[HOW-TO] Add a Zombie Factory in LOTD

Post by Dragosvr92 »

Go to the Actor Class Browser.
Browse though Actor => Navigation Point => OpponentFactory => ZombieFactory.
Return to your map. Rightclick an area. Click "Add ZombieFactory Here".
Double click the black hangman-icon you added, to browse to its properties.

Go to the OpponentFactory tab. OpponentTypes => Add. Chose "ControllerType", for example ZombieAIController.
Go to the "PawnType", Chose a zombie-character, for example xYoungAdultMale.
Go to "Skill" to set the zombies skill. You may set it from 1 to 3. (You may even let it as is(0))

(Repeat the last three lines/steps to add as many different zombies as you'd like.)

Go to "TheCreationPolicy" => "New". Add "MultiplayerPolicy". On the right side, click "New".
In the "MaxOpponents" Set the number of zombies that should spawn at once.

Thats it !

Here are some extra tips to add spawning animations

Now, from the "OpponentFactory" tab, Continue browsing at the "xSpawnAnims" => "Add"
In the "Animation" field, type/paste "StandardHoleGround"
In the "Package" field, type/paste "DOTZASpawn.StandardHoleGround"

That will make zombies getting up from the ground.
If you want more zombie-pawn-animations, load the "DOTZASpawn.ukx" file from the Animations tab and look for the animation names there.


You may also want to check this topic:
Setting A Default LOTD GameType
Attachments
zombietest.zip
Simple map with a zombie factory.
(5.43 KiB) Downloaded 188 times
zombietest.zip
Simple map with a zombie factory.
(5.43 KiB) Downloaded 188 times
Formerly known as TheKiller
carlos_c13
Lurker
Lurker
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Apr 2013, 20:04
Name: carlos

Re: [HOW-TO] Add a Zombie Factory in LOTD

Post by carlos_c13 »

thanks dragos !
User avatar Romania
Dragosvr92
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1128
Joined: 11 Sep 2009, 06:04
Name: Dragoș-Valentin Rădulescu
Location: Romania
Age: 32
Contact:

Re: [HOW-TO] Add a Zombie Factory in LOTD

Post by Dragosvr92 »

I will paste a list of all available Animation Sets bellow for you to copy-paste them easily, but check the file for a reference.

Code: Select all

DOTZASpawn.StandardDumpster
DOTZASpawn.StandardFallStoryThree
DOTZASpawn.StandardHoleGround
DOTZASpawn.StandardHoleHigh
DOTZASpawn.StandardHoleLow
DOTZASpawn.StandardHoleVertical
DOTZASpawn.StandardLedge
DOTZASpawn.StandardWall
DOTZASpawn.StandardWallBreak
DOTZASpawn.StandardWindowStoryTwo
DOTZASpawn.StandardWindowStoryOne
DOTZASpawn.StandardFallStoryOne
DOTZASpawn.StandardSpawnSewer
DOTZASpawn.StandardSpawnSewerWater
DOTZASpawn.StandardSpawnHaystack
DOTZASpawn.StandardSpawnFence
DOTZASpawn.StandardSpawnSewerWater
DOTZASpawn.StandardSpawnSewer
DOTZASpawn.StandardSpawnWindow
DOTZASpawn.ScuttlerSpawnFence
Formerly known as TheKiller
User avatar United States of America
NightScythe77
Lurker
Lurker
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jan 2016, 06:03

Re: [HOW-TO] Add a Zombie Factory in LOTD

Post by NightScythe77 »

I have successfully added zombie factory's to my map ,but I'm having trouble figuring out how to use the path nodes to get the zombies to walk around and such,Any help would be greatly appreciated ,Thanks
User avatar Great Britain
cosmo
Last Man Standing
Last Man Standing
Posts: 2574
Joined: 11 Sep 2009, 11:42

Re: [HOW-TO] Add a Zombie Factory in LOTD

Post by cosmo »

Hi Nightscythe

to add a path node , right click on the map and you will see the add path node option in the menu
i suggest placing one path node then duplicate that one......... path nodes should be spaced a reasonable distance apart............ i would suggest dling a map and opening it in the editor to see how the pathing has been done there......... hope that helps :)
Download
Image
User avatar United States of America
NightScythe77
Lurker
Lurker
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jan 2016, 06:03

Re: [HOW-TO] Add a Zombie Factory in LOTD

Post by NightScythe77 »

figured it out. thanks man
Post Reply